the alfmeister

a figment of reality's imagination

You call that shredding? No, this is Warp Factor 9!


Tiago Della Vega

In reading the Guinness Book of Records 2011 I am flummoxed by the amount of bullshit records there are out there, it seems you can do anything now and be a record holder…there were no fewer than a dozen different records alone for running a marathon dressed as something or other; a bottle, a nurse, a Superhero…for fuck’s sake, what happened to what ‘normal’ people do?

Another was how many tennis balls could be held in one hand (23 I think from memory) but I didn’t see one for ping-pong balls, bowling balls, cricket balls, or even rugby balls. How sets these parameters? I for example am the World Record holder for the number of my own hairy balls in one hand; 2. Although it is a record shared by my wife, various other girlfriends and a female doctor who gave me my leaving examination from the Navy. Either way, no one has yet to hold three of my balls in the palm of their hand, so why am I not in the book?

I digress, sorry, way off track…

But I saw this particular record as a footnote on a page and being a guitarist myself made a note to look it up. I personally have never played “Flight of the Bumblebee” on guitar, or any other instrument, and have no real intention to do so. But this fella had a crack, and as the clip shows did so pretty well at first crack, which not noted seems to be somewhere in the region of 180bpm.

Then he starts to ramp it up…it really looks like sped up photography, but nope, the genuine article.Stevie Vai, Eddie Van Halen, Joe Satriani, Orianthi and co, the challenge has been set. You’re the ‘shredders’, now go shred.

Enjoy.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

