the alfmeister

a figment of reality's imagination

Bitch Session – Thrifty Car Rentals…


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

To whom it may concern, and more importantly, to anyone who gives a damn…

A month ago I was the proud driver of the finest example of Japanese engineering and fashion when I hired a Suzuki something-or-another which I considered keeping as a toy for my daughter’s Barbie dolls. But I digress…I returned the car, satisfactorily clean, filled with gas, and despite the incessant urge to illegally street-race it, free from any wrong doing as seen in the eyes of our finest on the Thin Blue Line.

But four weeks on, and after two emailed requests I still am none the wiser to two questions (these will be done in no particular order of importance, however both do share the same weight of expectation on my part, and even worst, on my wife’s part – trust me, you think I am capable of wrath, nuclear testing during the 60s and 70s was just a manner in which my wife sunbathes);

  • Where is my money?
  • Why was I charged twice for said money?
  • And, where is my money?

So, while I won’t tell you how to run your business, I am comfortable in the fact that you must have some inkling, I cannot help but wonder at how much you are hemmoraghing (sic) through customer service, the likes not seen since Basil Fawlty met the Germans.

In paraphrasing somewhat, “so pretty please, with sugar on top”, can someone take ownership of this and sort it out? Even if it is the immigrant cleaner who comes in once a week after you’re all at home feeding your faces and watching Home & Away, I really couldn’t give a brass razoos (sic), she (or he, I don’t discriminate on sex, whereas the previous sentence obviously pigeon-holes cleaners as immigrants, but that was just an attempt to paint a picture that is easily recognisable to those who watched George Costanza sleep with the cleaner in Seinfeld, who just happened to be a woman and an immigrant) can surely do it .

PiS…this will be posted to Twitter, my blog, Facebook, and Google+ for future reference. Only because I can…there is a saying, a happy customer will, if you are lucky, tell one person, but trust me, that ain’t happening here.

PiSS…previous correspondence to this matter is below if you need to refresh yourselves on broken promises of yesterday…

PiSSS…I will accept family deaths, baby births, public beheadings, earthquakes (of Magnitude 4.0 and above) as well as swarms of locusts as possible excuses to lack of attention. Being an atheist (or at best, agnostic) I will not accept flooding, Armageddon, not invasion by the Sodomites.

PiSSSS…can I assume that if the money is not paid, the deposit actually covers the cost of the vehicle and I am now considered the proud owner of it?

PiSSSSS…just to show I have a sense of humour, by all means enjoy this take on Rental Car Companies – a classic bit of humour I think you’ll agree.

Carry on.

From: A Not Very Helpful Person
Sent: Monday, 31 October 2011 11:59 a.m.
To: Me
Subject: booking # ronqrr

Hi Me,

Thank you for your email. I forwarded your email onto A Figment of My Imagination , marked urgent.

She will respond to you, as soon as possible.

If you need to contact A Figment of My Imagination directly her details are customerservice@thrifty.co.nz or Tel (+64) 3 940-2732.

Kind Regards

A Not Very Helpful Person

Reservations Consultant

Head Office

Thrifty Car Rental NewZealand

From: Me
Sent: Monday, 31 October 2011 11:21 a.m.
To: A Figment of My Imagination
Cc: A Not Very Helpful Person
Subject: FW: booking # ronqrr

Hi A Figment of My Imagination

Can I please have an update on this? I haven’t heard anything from anyone in two weeks.

Me

From: A Not Very Helpful Person
Sent: Tuesday, 18 October 2011 2:06 p.m.
To: Me
Subject: booking # ronqrr

Dear Me,

Thank you for your email, I have forwarded this to our Customer Experience Manager, A Figment of My Imagination , who will look into your query. She will respond with an acknowledgement of your email within 2 working days, however please note that a full response from her may take longer.

If you need to contact A Figment of My Imagination directly her details are customerservice@thrifty.co.nz  Tel (+64) 3 940-2732.

Kind Regards

A Not Very Helpful Person
Reservations Consultant

Head Office

Thrifty Car Rental NewZealand

From: Me
Sent: Tuesday, 18 October 2011 1:25 p.m.
To: A Not Very Helpful Person
Subject: FW: booking # ronqrr
Importance: High

Hi A Not Very Helpful Person

I was the person using the below rental booking in AKLD last week and wanted to know the following;

  • When will the hold be taken off my card
  • And why have there been two, seemingly for differing amounts as
    below?

Please advise and correct ASAP. Thanks.

17 Oct 2011 Visa Purchase Thrifty Car $44.98

13 Oct 2011 Visa Purchase Thrifty Car $45.79

// CDATA[

var _gaq = _gaq || [];
_gaq.push([‘_setAccount’, ‘UA-26996085-1’]);
_gaq.push([‘_trackPageview’]);

(function() {
var ga = document.createElement(‘script’); ga.type = ‘text/javascript’; ga.async = true;
ga.src = (‘https:’ == document.location.protocol ? ‘https://ssl’ : ‘http://www’) + ‘.google-analytics.com/ga.js’;
var s = document.getElementsByTagName(‘script’)[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s);
})();
// ]]>

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

