the alfmeister

a figment of reality's imagination

A Bite Out…Harringtons Bar and Cafe


 

Older photo as one of the letters is missing.

For those regular readers of my drivel the name Harringtons will be familiar – there hasn’t been too many of their beers I haven’t “sampled” (picture one of those upper-class toffs spitting into a vessel after swishing it around to savour the tastes and aromatics – that ain’t me!) and raved about.

But unfortunately on this occasion the food wasn’t to the same standard. Came as a shame as I had snacked there before and thought it to be better than reasonable, but today it wasn’t what I would consider decent fare. I feel bad as while it wasn’t great, it wasn’t entirely shit – the kids loved their Nuggets/Fish n Chips – the value made it half-pie-decent.

I ordered Chicken Pasta with Capsicum and Sweet-Chilli Sauce – if there is something I know about, it’s pasta and this was hugely disappointing. Creamy it wasn’t, milky it was.

Katie had Beef Nachos, something she knows something about, and again, hugely disappointing, just a pile of dry beef and a huge dollop of sour cream hiding what appeared to be a big pile of stale chips.

But as I said, the kid’s meals were quite good, although they did get the order wrong by giving my two-year-old the adult Fish n Chips and my seven-year-old kids Nuggets and Chips.

With my two Rogue Hops (my second choice as Anvil was not available, boo hoo) which are a great lunch time beer, and Katie’s Mud House wine, and an orange each for the kids, the total cost was $62. Not bad, but while each meal feel in the $7-10 range, I would have expected better. There should be no compromise on good food due to price…but they are one of the best when it comes to brewing beer!

Nice interior, and nice outside dining area when the weather is right

Setting: 3.5 out of 5

Staff: 3.0 out of 5

Food: 2.5 out of 5

Value: 3.0 out of 5

Overall Score: 3.0 out of 5

808 Main North Road, Belfast.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

