the alfmeister

a figment of reality's imagination

Friday Drinks…Harrington’s Saddler


I was intending to review another beer today, in fact the same that I had shoved to the side last week when Harrington’s Anvil stormed into my life. Well, Harrington’s have rudely stepped in again and shoved the other brew to the dark recesses of time, maybe never to be seen again…wooooooo…

A bird in the hand is worth a few down the gullet!

Anyways, wandering into the Belfast bottly I felt like getting me a dozen of the Anvil, however was told by my friend on the seas that it isn’t yet available in bottles, still only in draught. I didn’t feel like a pub pet, but wandered aimlessly in the cold store looking for new prey. It seems I have ‘sampled’ and reviewed most of them here. But then fate dealt its hand again. The ex-sailor offered a sample from the tap of two lagers – a 5% called Finest Lager and a 4% Saddler (watch out for DB!!). Now if my senses were awoken last week with Anvil, they were damn near shooting out of my orifices with this puppy!

Going down easier than a two-dollar whore on base, this drop has probably shot its way into the top ten beers I have ever had. And like its subtle taste, it will subtly get you pissed, so be wary; I downed 9 that night, and being of European lineage, the following morning as sweet as a sweet thing in the sweet shop.

Like any sane person, I cannot drink from cans (not like those heathens of Lion Red, Lion Brown and Double Brown), but will do if my drinking sanity relies on it. Bottles are by far better for beer, but there is a distinct chasm even between bottled beer and straight from the tap, and this beer very much typifies that, but not so bad a taste as between bottle and tin.

This beer MUST be well chilled to best appreciate, and would be at its startling performance on a hot day round the BBQ…bring on the summer I say!!

What they say; Saddler Lager 4% – Whole Malt Lager
A whole malt lager with no additives. It’s a light bodied brew with a toffee flavour that is evenly balanced with a hopped edge. Very crisp and very clean makes this lager very popular. Voted 4.33 out of 5 by its followers.

And being my last day at work (so still looking if anyone’s interested – probably shouldn’t ask in the middle of a beer review!), I will be popping in to purchase another box to celebrate my new-found freedom. Buy Red n Black!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

