the alfmeister

a figment of reality's imagination

A bite to eat…Khmer Satay Noodle House


This week Katie shouted me to lunch, which basically means she shouts at me to meet her at some restaurant somewhere with my wallet.

Anyway she took me across the road from her work to this little noodle house that her colleagues frequent, and she had been once and knew immediately that I would like it…she was so right!

Now there is a little history around this chain of restaurants, and being a ‘feel good’ story i recommend you click the link and read about it.

So, back to the meal; for those who follow my blogs, Asian foods are by far my favourite, a taste I acquired in my time up in the Orient, and going into such food places here is one of the most harrowing I can think of – first is the spectre that it might be crap, something that is too common here in NZ as everyone who owns a wok thinks he can do rice and noodles, and the other is wanting to sample everything on the menu! And every time I can spend ages checking out what I want to eat, and sometimes just settling on Combination Fried Rice just to allow those behind me to make their orders. Today was just as difficult, especially as Cambodian is not a food I am so familiar with, but the standout meal by description was Khmer Style Curry (meal 27) on rice, with options of yellow, red, or green curry, and chicken, beef, or seafood. I chose the beef, and after consulting the lady about the spiciness of the meal (as I say, hotter than most Kiwis can handle) she chose red curry for me. Katie had the same as she did the last time, Hot & Spicy Chicken on Cashews. We also had a Ginger Beer which is always soothing if it gets too hot.

The decor of this place was typical of a noodle house – relatively spartan, basic table settings, with condiments at each table and the obligatory painting from home. But the key point to me was the patrons – all Asian, which as I was told in Hong Kong is how you tell a good cookery from a bad one.

it didn’t take long to be brought to our table, and it certainly didn’t take long for me to devour it either! It was as good an Asian dish I have had here. The coconut cream mixed in was sublime, the beef cooked bang on, and the rice was nice and fluffy so when mixed with the curry it soaked it right up. As we tend to do, me and Katie swapped our meals to sample each others, and once again I think she knew that my knack at picking the right dish came through again and she loved it. Hers was very nice, the chicken was moist, and cashews (which some places tend to overcook) were great company…however as she tends to go mild it didn’t quite hit me ‘there’ where I like it, but worth trying with more punch. Speaking of which, my next meal will have the green curry as mine had nice, if not subtle, bite, but a bit more will be on the order.

For the size of the meals, and including the drink, $27.00 was as good a value as I can imagine. Yes, you can get Chinese rice and noodles for about $9-10 for a good size, but seldom this well cooked. The best Asian food I have had down here in Christchurch so far.

Setting: 3.5 out of 5

Staff: 4.0 out of 5

Food: 4.5 out of 5

Value: 4.0 out of 5

Overall Score: 4.0 out of 5

Please Note; this review is only on the restaurant I visited, Main North Road, Papanui, CHCH. I cannot pass judgement on any of the others around the country. Check the site for one near you.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “A bite to eat…Khmer Satay Noodle House

  1. Keith Eleftheriou on said:

    Yesterday I had lunch here. I ordered the Number 29 – Hot and Spicey Egg-Fried Noodles with beef, and red curry, $13 but seemed to be $20 worth of food – dynamite! Could not have done it much better than they did. So it is safe to say that this should be on your list of must be’s when looking for a good meal. Thanks guys for a great meal and wonderful service.

Leave a Reply

