the alfmeister

a figment of reality's imagination

Book Review – Storm of the Century – Stephen King


It has been a long, long time since I read any Stephen King novels, but consider myself to be a fan – Carrie, Salem’s Lot, Pet Semetary…some of his books have been turned into movies, some successfully (Carrie, Christine, Shawshank Redemption, Green Mile, Stand By Me), and some not such as Pet Semetary and Cujo.

Any way you look at it, King is the ‘king’ of horror and story telling, and this book was no exception…but this was no ordinary novel, it was in fact a screenplay for an ABC mini-series or made-for-TV movie, and there were bits in it which were typically TV, but the story, suspense, and images conjured into the mind were great. In saying that, this book had stills from the series which unfortunately ruined what I had in my head – some people won’t mind this, but for me I like to get my own impression of what towns, people, and suspense exists.

For anyone after a good horror/thriller, this is pretty good, but the book itself might be a better read (if in fact it exists as a novel), and for me it has restarted my want to read some more of his books, the last of which was Pet Semetary back at school (trust me, that was long enough ago!).

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

